The success of NRP 65 depended on a number of actors from research and the administration.

​The Steering Committee was responsible for running the programme - from selecting projects and scientific quality assurance to producing a synthesis at the end of the programme.

The programme manager and the president of the Steering Committee were responsible for the operational management. The head of knowledge transfer was responsible for the communication of the research results to target audiences. The representative of the Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE) worked with the Steering Committee and communicated results to the federal administration.

The National Research Council of the SNSF was ultimately responsible for the NRP. The delegate of the Research Council acted as a link between the Research Council and the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee members of NRP 65:

  • Professor Jürg Sulzer, Büro Stadtumbau und Stadtentwicklung, Zurich (President)
  • Professor Hartmut Häussermann († 2011), Professor of Urban and Regional Sociology, Humboldt-Universität Berlin, Germany
  • Professor Elisabeth Merk, (Architect), City councillor, Director for Urban Planning, Munich City Council, Munich, Germany
  • Professor Daniel B. Müller, Department of Hydraulic and Environmental Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology NTNU, Trondheim, Norway
  • Professor Werner Oechslin, professor of art history and architecture at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich (until November 2013)
  • Professor Karl W. Steininger, Department of Economics and Wegener Center for Climate and Global Change, University of Graz, Austria
  • Brigit Wehrli-Schindler, sociologist, Konzepte & Projekte, Zurich

Delegate of the National Research Council:

  • Professor Kay W. Axhausen, Institute for Transport Planning and Systems (IVT), Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich

Representative of the Confederation:

  • Dr Maria Lezzi, Director Federal Office for Spatial Development

Programme Manager:

  • Dr Stephanie Schönholzer, SNSF (until November 2013)
  • Dr Pascal Walther, SNSF (from November 2013)

Head of Knowledge Transfer:

  • Dominik Büchel, advocacy ag, Basel

Further information on this content